Once upon a MidNight…


The clock struck 12. The ominous moment had arrived. We glanced nervously at each other. Neither had done anything more sinister than this before. But we did not have the choice. The unimaginable had  already been done and there was no way it could be undone.

It could now only be hid under the darkness of the moonless sky. We had to act quick else the night would fade away.

The stench had been growing for a week now since we first shifted into this new apartment. We never knew we would be facing this.

Though god loving I had been equally satan- fearing. Signs and omens tested my faith in a flash and…I was forced to believe the unbelievable…

The day we shifted a big black cat jumped up on me while I was trying to climb up the stairs. I was knocked down hard as it jumped over me and disappeared into nothingness…

except for a few scratches and a broken hair clip all I could give myself was a pounding heart at the top of my throat.

But then I had to move on…though similar omens followed.

But now both drenched in cold sweat heaved the plastics extremely cautious not to leave any evidence of the ghastly act. The lights could be turned on in no condition as we struggled with the weight, the darkness and the stench…tottering through the 2nd..the 1st…and finally the ground floor…

ThumPP!! and ThuuuuDDD!!!

we RAN with the haste of the storm and the stealth of the breeze!!…

Huhh!

Gasp..gasp ..gasp…! Thank God nobody saw us…

Yet in the trauma of the macabre move I reminisced those peaceful days which now were a long lost dream…. 😦

I had asked my landlady..but she lied… I had talked to a few neighbours but they laughed at my “big issue”, I had requested the sweeper but she would refuse to open her mouth about it...Nobody in this new locality would tell me anything about it… until I met the laundry man…

He heard me right. Agreed to send someone who could be trusted with the

But in the end he eerily smiled…” Madam are you new in the neighbourhood?”….”That’s why? ”

that “that’s why” nearly choked my heart..”O dear lord..why the heck had I shifted!!” 😦

Seven days were too long for the countdown…

I would wait nervously at the door each morning since 5.00 before eventually moving out of the house. Nobody turned up…

the knowing dawned deep upon us that today was the day and tonight was THE night… the crawlers and wrigglers had begun to invade the rotting mass…The thought of it wrenched my stomach with dread and disgust.

But we somehow did it..

We gazed long at our accomplishment from the 3rd floor balcony… it wasn’t long before  somebody would pick “it” up and nobody “perhaps” would know who did it..except for that strange dog who sniffed us close!..

I looked at her and said…I never knew I would miss the dustbin so much!! eventually even we have joined the club of Delhi’s Rich and Famous!! 😛

The locality is all posh and pompous with a split ac in each room…a sedan for each of the members above 18…all sorts of smart gadgets fill all their lives and all exquisite jewellery adorn all their wives !! But somehow none of these multi millionaires have felt the need of a mere dustbin…

Each day each moment the rubble may come form anywhere and from any floor… aaaannnd adorn your freshly bathed body before proudly claiming its throne on the streets!! 😛

Here people unscrupulously, unhesitatingly and with such untellable joy aim their exclusive, extraordinary garbage onto the streets….as if playing holi. 😛

May be this is what is called being “Filthy” rich 

We waited for 7 long days in our zealous attempt of finding a community dustbin or even hire a scrap collector but to no avail!! and eventually we had to play the inevitable holi that night. 😦

It won’t be long before we wouldn’t need to wait for the night fall and play the holi audaciously in broad day light! God save me from turning savage. 😦

When Government is ‘deeply saddned‘ by the meager 74.04% literacy rate… I wonder what great statistics can transform such a ‘great‘ a Functional Literacy to as high a figure as this!

But I am no complaining citizen to stay dumb…

As I reminisce those days when I proudly declared….”I love My India and I strive to make it Clean and Green.” ….I wait for the community dustbin to turn up (for which I have requested the MCD lead)…or the angelical scrap collector to knock my door one fine day! 😀

Meanwhile I will just wait and pray that I am not compelled to repeat that sordid sin again!! 🙂

O dear lord may our deep dark secret….

……melt into a dandy dream…( a community dustbin  !!) Quick Please!!

Amen!

15 responses to “Once upon a MidNight…

  1. Haha I enjoyed the story, and more than that the secret comments. =p
    My reaction to the post: OMG WHAT A SIN! 😀

  2. ur reallyyy wonderfulll…how come u can think so nicely and write so nice blogs……u hve a wonderful god given gift….use it and make others proud of u dear…may god bless u always….

  3. Thanx Rahul…yup the dustbin told me how proud it was 😛

  4. with Midas touch of your words you made dustbin feeling proud of itself.
    Nice one.

  5. Great post. We all need to keep our city clean[but we don’t]
    Rather we always get angry on the municipality.

  6. arre dear , i told you on the 1st day itself , tht i m not the one whom u r suspecting. I m not tricking u. better u start investigating… 🙂

  7. Hi,

    Nice blog. you write well. This is the same dustbin for which you wrote a complain somewhere, right? How much time on an avg do u take to put a blog? I am inspired.
    Your are a champ.

    Ramesh

  8. Hey Dear, It is 1 AM now and the way your blog started, I was wondering what that ‘it’ could be. When I came to know that it was a dustbin, I was wondering and smiling that how a dustbin can infuse so much thrill just by writing. I really enjoyed your this writing. I think this is the magic of words, especially when it is in the hands of a knowledgeable person.
    For Dustbin issue, I may suggest you to put an written complain in duplicate at the municipality office and get the complain no. from them on the photocopy along with their stamp, then to follow up the issue and you can go step by step till court also (if you lke). This really works. I am telling it from my personal experience. All it needs is a little initiative. 🙂 .
    I am proud of my India and its policies.:)

    I am also looking forward another blog on how you brought the change, the dustbin.

    N.B. Take effort only if you can dedicate time on this as it would be huge tussle with the system.

    Please ignore the parts which you think I should have.

    final comment: It was a nice writing. Salute dear allrounder.

    Maani gali saanga maani gali.
    Enjoyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

    • I’m confused perhaps..by some identity mix-up! ..
      actually i thought u were a friend of mine..but i see that the friend has commented separately..n moresoever he denies to have written those comments..

      but the details with which u describe ( in ur 1st comment) surprise me!…
      Do I know u…
      I mean ..i really should know.. So May I Please?

    • Hi,

      Last time itself i gave you hint, which may not be sufficient. But I would like me to be with out name at present. at present I am just a friend. If it is not feasible for you to receive comments from unknown, please let me know I won’t post any comment further…

      May I know what are your guesses?(if you like to)

      Sorry if I confuse you a lot, but I enjoy doing this. So pardon me.

      Enjoyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

  9. No DUSTBIN could carry this much filth.Thought provoking,good one.

  10. Pammy u r very much right and its the responsibilty of every citizen to keep our motherland neat and clean. People forget the responsibilities when they become rich but the mindset shd change and I believe smday they can proudly say “I Love my India”.
    Pammy I wait eagerly for your blogs as everytime I read I find something new. I have become a fan of your blogs.

How much does it cost your Comment? Your While. My Smile.

