The friend I had…


I can say the sorry.
But I won’t.
Because you can say it too
And you don’t.

That’s what I thought a few days back.
Before I knew I would be taken aback.

I was the first one to know when you went to meet her.
I was the first one to read your 1st love letter.

Now where have you gone? Why didn’t you tell me?
I am lonely without you, can’t you just see?

When you cheated, I was the one who was caught.
Kneeling down in the assembly and what not!

Drenching in the rain,
Jumping in muddy puddles
You promised me then,
“Together shall we cross all hurdles”.

You never even gave me a birthday gift ever.
Remember, those cards I made for you?
You would simply come back with those on my birthday and say,
“I can’t make anything better than this. So here, take it.

I’m giving you My bestest gift.” 🙂

I would run behind your cycle.
And you hardly gave me a ride.

But I was always ‘THE CHOSEN ONE’,
When you had dark secrets to confide.

Now, I want you to hear some too.
Tell me, Where are you?

People just smiled and said,
“Never change. Be the one you are”
But you would never hesitate
to show me the mud instead of the star.

It was then that I felt,
“With a friend like you, perhaps I don’t need an enemy!”

But little did I know,
That was how you made ME.

Today I confess,
You were never just wrong
And I was never just right.
But somehow that day we had the fight.

“Come on now!  I’m sorry, I admit.
Forgive me please and let’s end it.”

You were my friend when we didn’t know what a ‘Friendship day’ was.
You were my friend when I was the dumbest in the class.

You were my friend ever since I knew
But then you didn’t come back
coz I didn’t say sorry to you…

I wish I had told you so…
The last time we met.
I have been your friend for life.
How could you just forget?”

I hope it’s not that late…
Not too late to even regret.

24 responses to “The friend I had…

  1. love u too swty…. :-*
    but m disappointed a bit this tym coz i dint get any notification on this particular article in my mail…..all others i get notifications regularly.
    I just checked out this via FB…
    If this happens then m afraid that i would be missing some precious writings from a very precious person in my life… 😦

    • You make me feel just so special dear.
      Nothing to worry because this is a 3 year old poem that I wrote on a friendship day 3 years back. That is the reason you didn’t receive the notification. 🙂
      You wouldn’t miss any of my writings I assure you.

  2. I wish i were ur dearest friend dear Pam..so dat i could have learnt a lot from u…i really envy ur near & dear ones….who have “u” in their lives !!!!
    :/

    • Hey Padma you are my special friend and very very special indeed. You can’t imagine how I wait for your words here after writing each article. And u can’t ever think how happy I become reading your comments.
      There’s a lot to learn from you, not me.
      Love you sweetheart for the endless encouragement I find in you.
      Bless u!!

  3. awesome pamela….amazingly thoughts put into words

  4. Pingback: Reader Appreciation Award. Finally the First Award Arrives! Thank You Dear Kitty!! | Resonner's Blog

  5. This is lovely. So emotional, and SO amazingly written! Justloveit.

    • Hey Magnanimous girl! You indeed justify your mail-id!
      Whether this is lovely or not- you certainly are! 🙂

      • Wait a minute – where is my mail id visible? It was such a whoop you see, I was only looking for a ‘good adjective’ from the letter ‘M’ when I made it. 😉

        And thank you for your lovely words!

        • Dont worry sweety! after exchanging so many thoughts with you, I have come to realise this adjective perfectly suits you.
          It can’t suit anybody else any better!

          • Oh my God. 🙂 You have no idea Pamela how grateful I am for your kind words! 🙂 Seriously, I don’t really deserve these praises!
            Thank you! Have a lovely life ahead. =)

            • God bless us both!
              Stay in touch. I am reading your stuff right now.
              Wait- I should decide what you deserve.
              Trust, love and appreciation. 🙂
              Best wishes, warm regards and lots of good will all through your life dear!

  6. Loved it !!!

  7. mama ur writings are so amazing….u hve magic in urself and in ur writtingss….keep continuing and u will surely achieve great heights…..goodluck dear…

  8. again a marvelous piece of writing…………………………………………

  9. Didi,its very beautiful and very true.

    Whatever situation may be,good or bad…friends would always be friends….

  10. Nice one, love reading your blog!

  11. jisse tum bhul gaye,
    woh kisse yaad ho.
    …………………….
    jisse tum bhul gaye,
    woh kisse yaad ho.
    aur jo tumhe yaad rha ,
    uska kya kehna…

    people say: in friendship there is no sorry , no thanks
    But i feel, at least at extream situations, never forget to say sorry/thanks. This makes relation stronger than before.

    Happy friendship day dear…..

  12. Excellent!!!
    You always put your thoughts/experiences into precise words.
    Keep it up.

    Happy Friendship Day.

How much does it cost your Comment? Your While. My Smile.

