I promise not to promise again…


I promise not to promise again.
because promises have thrown me into prisons of pain.
Tears hanging onto my eyelids.
I don’t know
whether to hold on or let them go.

Too many lines strewn across my forehead,
from too many stories you said.
Too many questions remain unanswered.
Too many feelings seek to make their voices heard.

I make a clarion call
and try not answering them all.
Because some answers that I found
have given me wounds so profound.

I can neither scream nor seep into silence.
Acting as if in oblivion,
I pretend to go on.

The sound of the train and drops of rain
weave a melancholy melody.
My heart skips a beat
as I decide to retreat.
A step forward and two behind,
in this tortuous path I try to find.

Tunnel after tunnels pass.
Light after darkness and darkness after light.
But this night inside me,
stays on in my fight.

Raindrops on the glass panes,
empty fields and empty lanes…
Remind me of the kingdom I once ruled.
Until I realised how I was be-fooled.

Beneath the bridges the rivers flow.
Mountains come and valleys go.
As I sit back and ignore
the answers I already know…

How true it is indeed…

Being born blind is easier
than closing your eyes,
Because it is hard to know the truth
and yet live on with lies…

11 responses to “I promise not to promise again…

  1. “I make a clarion call
    and try not answering them all.
    How true it is indeed…”

    “Being born blind is easier
    than closing your eyes,
    Because it is hard to know the truth
    and yet live on with lies…”

    I just loved it.. No other words to say.

  2. Pingback: Reader Appreciation Award. Finally the First Award Arrives! Thank You Dear Kitty!! | Resonner's Blog

  3. Sublime Stranger

    Ironical, making promises is harder than keeping promises. Uncanny, your descriptive verse reminded me of this song : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvgZkm1xWPE

  4. Nicely written…Keep it up…

  5. nice work dear!!!!

  6. Might be. But I have already broken some… N now I have ensured I dont make those which I have to break.

  7. another masterpiece… but you don’t seem to e a person who will break a promise…

How much does it cost your Comment? Your While. My Smile.

