Laughter lies.


Sad-Girl-l - Copy

I laughed and laughed.
Until the laughter echoed,
across the perfumed halls and the sunny windows.

Some were mine.
Some theirs.

Laughter resonated.
Laughter reverberated.
From one after the other,
older and younger.

As if everybody had pledged to be happy!
As if everybody had promised to laugh!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Laughter faded.
Laughter dwindled.
I continued laughing unbridled.

Old and young and children too,
had stopped laughing long.
Oblivious of their gaze,
I laughed on.

Until it wasn’t laughter anymore…

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

A little girl came to me, tearing the crowd.
Put her fingers across my lips
and whispered aloud,
“Shhh! Stop laughing!!
What makes you so sad today?”

S-A-D?? But, I am not crying!
No!! There are no tears on my cheeks?
Look little girl! I am laughing!!

“Oh! Please stop!”
and she held my hand in hers…

“My daddy says, when you laugh like this,
When you laugh ‘like happy’..
Despite your tries,
your laughter lies.”

I stopped.
Oh little girl!
Your father has taught you well.
Harrowing humor comes from a hurt heart.

“So why your self, should you betray?
Why be hurt and not say?
Why must you laugh like this?”

O little one!
You are too little to learn!

I laugh.
I lie.
Not because I don’t dare to show.
But because the world doesn’t care to know.

181243_468604629876340_1758000569_n

30 responses to “Laughter lies.

  1. This is an amazingly touching piece and sadly so so SO relatable 😦

    • Hey sorry for the late response. I am just so happy that you liked it and sad as well that it reminded of something sad..
      Thanks for the visit dear.

  2. Loved it! your poems make me go speechless 🙂

  3. As usual, speechless… 🙂

    Love the end..
    the words just reach the deepest core of the heart in no time…
    Way to go! 🙂

  4. Wonderful poem!

    “I laugh.
    I lie.
    Not because I don’t dare to show.
    But because the world doesn’t care to know.”

    Very strong ending indeed… Lovely

    And also liked the part

    “My daddy says, when you laugh like this,
    When you laugh ‘like happy’..
    Despite your tries,
    your laughter lies.”

    Kudos 🙂

  5. tazeinmirzasaad

    My sweet friend, I have nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award! Please visit this link: http://transcendingbordersblog.wordpress.com/2013/10/15/the-versatile-blogger-award-6/

  6. “Laughter really lies”……
    Oh Pam….u really bring out true feelings from deep inside the heart….
    Very touchy & very emotional 😦

  7. pigeonsnotmytype

    if the world doesn’t care to know whether we laugh or cry;its alwyz better to laugh(pretend),mayn’t increase happiness hormones but alwyz a greater probability vis-a-vis crying;liked this logical optimism inter alia(which are alwyz terrific)………

    • Thank you so much for your kind words!
      You are right- Its better to break down in laughter than in tears in front of the world. 🙂
      Blessed that you visited!

  8. How true..”But because the world doesn’t care to know.” I’m touched dear Author . Perhaps ,Laughter is the best shock absorber that eases the blows of life..

    • But you know what Dear Reader… Sometimes the shock is so much that even the shock absorber breaks down. 😀
      Thank you for your generosity. Happy Durga puja!

  9. Day by day I am getting surprises from Resonner;)
    Good one …Liked line ‘Harrowing humor comes from a hurt heart’…
    As usual nice picture selection…Keep it up…
    God bless…

    • Rahul ji! Im humbled by your unbound love and appreciation.
      I wish you could become our future PM, rather than the other Rahul 😉 😛
      God bless us both! SO that we dont fail in exams again and we dont write such painful poems!
      He bhagwaan sadbuddhi de! 😀

  10. Wow !! I just loved the flow…. I just loved the expression of pan…And I just loved that little girl who spoke the words which were of true wisdom….It sometimes become necessary to hide tears behind smiles…. Few are the people who really care to see the hidden tears ! I am loving your work. New here on your blog…. And Loved it so far. Let’s see what it shows me next 😉

  11. OmyGod! This is so true, so amazing, just wonderful! LOVE it.

  12. There it is again – one more enlivening one.. In love with all the posts!

    Take care hone!

How much does it cost your Comment? Your While. My Smile.

